Gira uses cookies for websites in the gira.com domain. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. Our Data Protection Declaration contains more information about the cookies used by us or third parties and the ways in which you can deactivate cookies.

Ok

Thirst for knowledge as a driving force

INTERVIEW WITH BILJANA BRANISAVLJEVIC-SOVIC, SHIFT MANAGER OF PLASTICS PROCESSING LAST UPDATED: 2014

Learning has become a real passion for her. Biljana Branisavljevic-Sovic started at Gira in Assembly in 2004 and then soon applied for the position of team coordinator. While she was completing the two-year in-house training for this new function, she was already thinking about the next one. So she then directly began training as a master craftsman. Despite shift work on the job and three sessions a week at the college for master craftsmen, this single mother kept on going and successfully completed her training. She now works as shift manager in plastics production and is planning her job-concurrent university studies.

Topics in this article


Further training and promotion


In-house training at Gira


Job-concurrent university studies

You work in plastics production in shifts, in the so-called continuous shift model. What hours did you work today and how about over the next few days?

BB: I started at 5.30 this morning. Tomorrow and the day after tomorrow I have a late shift, then night shift on Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Then I have two days off.

Does it always continue in the same rhythm?

BB: No, it changes. I have been working for seven days in a row: two early shifts, two late shifts, three night shifts. Then I have two days off. And then it continues with 2 days on early shift, two days on late shift, once on night shift, then four days off. Ultimately this means that I work one to two weekends a month. After every night shift block I have two to four days off. It depends whether the weekend falls in between.

What do you do in your free time to recover from shift work? The rhythm is different if you work through a weekend or sometimes start early or late.

BB: You don't even notice the first day of the night shift. But because I am a single parent, I don't go to sleep at all, but during the day I do the household chores which were left undone on the previous days. I spend the second day with my daughter. There is homework to be done, so I see how I can help her to cope with the material. I spend most of my time on my child, my dog and the household. This is relaxation for me.


As a single parent, alongside my work I also attended night school for three and half years – that required a lot of staying power. Biljana Branisavljevic-Sovic managed it. For she knows: "The more further training I complete, the more new stuff I learn, the better chance I have of achieving something in life."


You completed your training as a cutting machine operator specialising in grinding technology. What gave you the idea? Were you always interested in craftsmanship and technical subjects?

BB: Yes, I always enjoyed this. My parents used to have a tractor. I preferred changing the oil on the tractor to playing with Barbies. This suited me much better. I was never particularly interested in make-up and clothes. It was the same during training. Early in the morning I put on my oil-smeared clothes – and that was always OK.

You started in Assembly and completed your training as a team coordinator there. What happened next?

BB: When I started in Assembly in 2004, I soon applied for the position as team coordinator and completed a two-year in-house training course there. This was followed by training as a foreman, which I also successfully completed. After the master craftsman training, I applied for a position in plastics production because they were looking for a shift manager. And I got the job.

How does this actually play out in practical terms when you work on a shift? How can you also complete training?

BB: When I was doing the master craftsman training, I received specific support from Gira. At that time I was still working in Assembly, working on both early and late shifts, in alternating weeks. For the three and a half years during which I attended the school, I was allowed to work only on early shifts. This enabled me to go to the college for master craftsmen twice during the week and on Saturday.

These three and a half years must have been very tiring.

BB: Yes, it wasn't easy as a single parent to persevere with three and half years of night school alongside work. In addition, the tasks at Gira kept on growing, as I was a team coordinator, first as a specialist supervisor, then later as a disciplinary supervisor. After just under three years I thought: now it's time to finish school and pass the exam. For at some point you can't do it any more. But I am also prepared to keep on learning. I want to start it again soon.



Biljana Branisavljevic-Sovic's 14-year old daughter is the centre of her life. She draws strength from the time with her and their dog.


You can see from her CV that she always wanted more than just a secure job at Gira. Why do you always push yourself?

BB: I need change, I love learning and achieving new goals. I am not that old yet, I have a few years until I retire. I notice it already: The more further training I complete, the more new stuff I learn, the better chance I have of achieving something in life.

You were supported by Gira during your further training. What did this involve?

BB: In the team coordinator training I told the head of training that I wanted to attend the college for master craftsmen at a later date. I asked myself how that would be received in the company if I said that I still wanted to carry on learning. At some point the training manager put pressure on and said: Now go to the HR department and don't just ask for it, but tell them that you want to do it now. I did just that and it was well received. I submitted an application. Then Gira supported me financially during the training to the tune of 80 percent. I clarified with my colleagues in the segment how we would organise the shifts. Because I couldn't work the late shift any more. My supervisor agreed. And then this was possible.

You spend your free time with your daughter and your dog. Does your daughter already have an idea of what she would like to do in the future?

BB: Yes, she would like to study mechanical engineering later. And she wants to be CEO at Gira.

What gave her the idea? Do you tell her a lot about your work?

BB: Of course I do. We talk about everything, about work of course and that I enjoy it. If I ever urgently need some time for my private life, then that is also possible. For example, if my little girl has an important appointment coming up or someone rings from school and I have to pick my daughter up. No-one has ever said: No, that's not possible. I get the support when I need it. And my daughter is also aware of that. She would like to work at Gira some day. She can hardly wait to have a holiday job here some day.

You intend to also continue with further training in future. Where do you see yourself in a few years?

BB: I have decided to begin a part-time university course this September, to run concurrently with my job. I would like to study business psychology. I can't yet answer where I see myself in a few years. I'll let myself be surprised. I think that all doors are open at Gira.

BILJANA BRANISAVLJEVIC-SOVIC


Born
1972

At Gira since
2004

Training
Cutting machine operator specialising in grinding technology

Career at Gira
She began working at Gira in Assembly in 2004 and became a team coordinator after completing in-house training. She soon began to attend the college for master craftsmen alongside her work and successfully completed her training as a metal foreman at the end of 2010. In March 2012 she was appointed shift manager in plastics production at Gira

[Last updated: 2014]


Further information

Gira verwendet Cookies für Websites in der Domain gira.de. Durch die Nutzung unserer Website stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Erfahren Sie mehr zu den von uns oder Dritten eingesetzten Cookies und Ihren Möglichkeiten diese auszustellen in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Ok

Wissensdurst als Antriebskraft

INTERVIEW MIT BILJANA BRANISAVLJEVIC-SOVIC, SCHICHTLEITERIN DER KUNSTSTOFFFERTIGUNG
STAND 2014

Lernen ist für sie zur echten Leidenschaft geworden. Biljana Branisavljevic-Sovic hat 2004 bei Gira in der Montage angefangen und sich schon bald auf eine Stelle als Teamkoordinatorin beworben. Schon während sie die zweijährige interne Ausbildung für diese neue Funktion absolviert, denkt sie über die nächste nach. So beginnt sie direkt im Anschluss eine Meisterausbildung. Trotz Schichtdienst im Job und drei Terminen an der Meisterschule in der Woche hält die alleinerziehende Mutter durch und schließt die Ausbildung erfolgreich ab. Jetzt arbeitet sie als Schichtleiterin in der Kunststofffertigung und plant ihr berufsbegleitendes Hochschulstudium.

Themen Dieses Artikels


Weiterbildung und Aufstieg


Interne Ausbildung bei Gira


Berufsbegleitendes Hochschulstudium

Sie arbeiten in der Kunststofffertigung im Schichtdienst, im sogenannten Konti- Schichtmodell. Zu welcher Zeit haben Sie heute gearbeitet, und wie sieht es in den nächsten Tagen aus?

BB: Ich habe heute Morgen um 5.30 Uhr angefangen. Morgen und übermorgen habe ich Spätschicht, dann Freitag, Samstag und Sonntag Nachtschicht. Danach habe ich zwei Tage frei.

Geht es immer so gleichbleibend in diesem Rhythmus weiter?

BB: Nein, das ändert sich. Sieben Tage habe ich jetzt am Stück: zweimal Frühschicht, zweimal Spätschicht, dreimal Nachtschicht. Dann habe ich zwei Tage frei. Und dann geht das weiter mit zwei Tagen Frühschicht, zwei Tagen Spätschicht, einmal Nachtschicht, dann vier Tage frei. Im Endeffekt ist es so, dass ich ein bis zwei Wochenenden im Monat arbeite. Nach jedem Nachtschichtblock sind zwei bis vier Tage frei. Es hängt davon ab, ob das Wochenende dazwischenfällt.

Wie nutzen Sie Ihre Freizeit, wenn Sie sich vom Schichtdienst erholen? Der Rhythmus ist ja doch ein anderer, wenn man mal ein Wochenende durcharbeitet oder mal früh anfängt und mal spät.

BB: Den ersten Tag der Nachtschicht, den registriert man eigentlich gar nicht. Dadurch, dass ich alleinerziehend bin, ist es so, dass ich da gar nicht schlafen gehe, sondern tagsüber die Hausarbeiten erledige, die an den vorherigen Tagen liegen geblieben sind. Den zweiten Tag verbringe ich mit meiner Tochter. Da gibt es Schulaufgaben, die gemacht werden müssen, da schaue ich, wie ich ihr helfen kann, den Unterrichtsstoff zu bewältigen. Überwiegend verbringe ich die Zeit mit Kind, Hund und Haushalt. Das ist dann meine Erholung.


Als Alleinerziehende neben der Arbeit noch dreieinhalb Jahre Abendschule – das hat viel Durchhaltevermögen erfordert. Biljana Branisavljevic-Sovic hat es geschafft. Denn sie weiß: „Je mehr ich mich weiterbilde, je mehr ich Neues lerne, umso bessere Chancen habe ich, im Leben etwas zu erreichen.“.


Sie haben eine Ausbildung als Zerspanungsmechanikerin Fachrichtung Schleiftechnik gemacht. Wie kamen Sie darauf? Haben Sie immer schon ein handwerkliches und technisches Interesse gehabt?

BB: Ja, das hat mir immer schon Spaß gemacht. Meine Eltern hatten früher einen Traktor. Ich habe lieber einen Ölwechsel an dem Fahrzeug durchgeführt als mit Barbies gespielt. Das hat mir viel mehr gelegen. Ich war auch nie so eine, die sich besonders fürs Schminken und für Klamotten interessiert hat. Auch in der Ausbildung war das so. Ich habe frühmorgens zur Arbeit meine ölverschmierten Anziehsachen angezogen – und das war immer okay.

Sie haben in der Montage angefangen und dort eine Ausbildung zur Teamkoordinatorin gemacht. Wie ging es dann weiter?

BB: Als ich 2004 in der Montage angefangen habe, da habe ich mich schon bald auf eine Stelle als Teamkoordinatorin beworben und dort eine zweijährige interne Ausbildung gemacht. Dann folgte eine Ausbildung zur Industriemeisterin, die habe ich auch erfolgreich abgeschlossen. Nach der Meisterausbildung habe ich mich auf die Stelle in der Kunststofffertigung beworben, weil dort ein Schichtleiter gesucht wurde. Und die Stelle habe ich dann auch bekommen.

Wie läuft das eigentlich praktisch, wenn man im Schichtdienst arbeitet? Wie kann man da noch eine Ausbildung absolvieren?

BB: Als ich die Meisterausbildung gemacht habe, habe ich von Gira konkrete Unterstützung bekommen. Ich war zu der Zeit noch in der Montage, da wurde in Frühund Spätschicht gearbeitet, und das im wöchentlichen Wechsel. Für die dreieinhalb Jahre, in denen ich die Schule besuchte, durfte ich ausschließlich in der Frühschicht arbeiten. So konnte ich zweimal die Woche und samstags zur Meisterschule gehen.

Diese dreieinhalb Jahre müssen sehr anstrengend gewesen sein.

BB: Ja, das war nicht ohne, als Alleinerziehende neben der Arbeit noch dreieinhalb Jahre lang Abendschule durchzuhalten. Außerdem sind bei Gira auch die Aufgaben immer gewachsen. Denn ich wurde ja Teamkoordinatorin, war zuerst Fachvorgesetzte, später dann disziplinarische Vorgesetzte. Nach knapp drei Jahren habe ich gedacht: Jetzt wird es aber Zeit, dass die Schule fertig ist und ich die Prüfung bestehe. Denn dann kann man irgendwann nicht mehr. Aber ich bin auch weiterhin bereit zu lernen. Ich will bald wieder damit anfangen.



Die 14-jährige Tochter bildet den Lebensmittelpunkt von Biljana Branisavljevic-Sovic. Aus der Zeit mit ihr und dem gemeinsamen Hund schöpft sie Kraft.


Man sieht es an Ihrem Lebenslauf, dass Sie immer mehr wollten als einfach nur einen sicheren Arbeitsplatz bei Gira. Warum fordern Sie sich immer selbst?

BB: Ich brauche Veränderungen, ich liebe es, zu lernen und neue Ziele zu erreichen. So alt bin ich ja noch nicht, ich habe noch ein paar Jahre bis zu meinem Ruhestand. Ich merke es ja jetzt schon: Je mehr ich mich weiterbilde und Neues lerne, umso bessere Chancen habe ich, im Leben etwas zu erreichen.

Sie sind von Gira unterstützt worden in der Zeit der Weiterbildung. Wie ist das abgelaufen?

BB: In der Teamkoordinator-Ausbildung habe ich dem Leiter der Schulungen erzählt, dass ich später mal die Meisterschule machen möchte. Ich habe mich gefragt, wie das wohl im Unternehmen ankommen würde, wenn ich sage, dass ich immer noch weiterlernen möchte. Irgendwann hat der Schulungsleiter Druck gemacht und gemeint: Sie gehen jetzt zur Personalabteilung und fragen nicht einfach nur danach, sondern Sie sagen, dass Sie das jetzt machen wollen. Das habe ich dann auch getan, und es ist gut angekommen. Ich habe einen Antrag gestellt. Dann hat mich Gira zu 80 Prozent finanziell unterstützt bei der Ausbildung. Ich habe mit meinen Kolleginnen im Segment geklärt, wie wir das mit den Schichten machen. Denn ich konnte dann ja keine Spätschicht mehr übernehmen. Der Vorgesetzte war einverstanden. Und so wurde das dann möglich.

Sie sind in Ihrer Freizeit mit der Tochter und dem Hund unterwegs. Hat Ihre Tochter eigentlich auch schon eine Vorstellung davon, was sie mal werden möchte?

BB: Ja, sie möchte später Maschinenbau studieren. Und sie will Geschäftsführerin bei Gira werden.

Wie kommt sie darauf? Erzählen Sie ihr viel von der Arbeit?

BB: Klar mache ich das. Wir reden über alles, da e rzähle ich natürlich auch von der Arbeit und dass die mir gut gefällt. Wenn ich mal dringend Zeit für das Privatleben brauche, dann ist das auch machbar. Zum Beispiel wenn ein wichtiger Termin der Kleinen ansteht oder jemand aus der Schule ruft an und ich muss meine Tochter abholen. Es hat noch nie jemand gesagt: Nein, das geht jetzt nicht. Ich bekomme die Unterstützung, wenn ich sie brauche. Und das kriegt meine Tochter ja auch mit. Ihr Wunsch ist es, irgendwann mal bei Gira zu arbeiten. Sie kann es kaum erwarten, hier mal Ferienarbeit zu machen.

Sie haben vor, sich auch in Zukunft noch weiter fortzubilden. Wo sehen Sie sich denn in einigen Jahren?

BB: Ich habe mir vorgenommen, dieses Jahr im September berufsbegleitend ein Hochschulstudium zu beginnen. Ich möchte gerne Wirtschaftspsychologie studieren. Wo ich mich in einigen Jahren sehe, das kann ich noch nicht beantworten. Da lasse ich mich überraschen. Ich denke, bei Gira sind alle Türen offen.

BILJANA BRANISAVLJEVIC-SOVIC


Geboren
1972

Bei Gira seit
2004

Ausbildung
Zerspanungsmechanikerin Fachrichtung Schleiftechnik

Werdegang bei Gira
Bei Gira beginnt sie 2004 in der Montage und wird dort nach interner Weiterbildung Teamkoordinatorin. Bald darauf beginnt sie, berufsbegleitend die Meisterschule zu besuchen, und schließt die Ausbildung zur Industriemeisterin Metall Ende 2010 erfolgreich ab. Im März 2012 wird sie Schichtleiterin der Kunststofffertigung bei Gira

[Stand 2014]


Weitere Informationen