Gira uses cookies for websites in the gira.com domain. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. Our Data Protection Declaration contains more information about the cookies used by us or third parties and the ways in which you can deactivate cookies.

Ok

Plastics expert with an inquiring mind

Interview with Bernhard Hoster, Technology Manager at Gira in the Plastics Technology business segment Last updated: April 2014

Bernhard Hoster is Technology Manager in the Plastics Technology business segment at Gira. An expert in the field, he has not only held various leading positions in the region, but also in Japan, China and Turkey, and was also a university lecturer for a long time. Working in research and development and contributing his expertise to the industry – this combination was always particularly important to him. And it is one that he continues to pursue at Gira. For to Hoster, innovation and plastics are inextricably linked.

Topics in this article


Innovation processes


New technologies


Final-year projects and Gira Technical Centre

You are a respected expert in the field of plastics technology,

BH: That already started with my studies. I studied Plastics Technology in Iserlohn at the University of Applied Sciences and completed my final year project in the field of thermoset. I was then involved in setting up the plastics institute at Lüdenscheid, where I was head of the thermosets department. Later, I founded the company Iserlohner Kunststoff- Technologie [ISK] and travelled all over the world for the company. I worked at Siemens in Istanbul for two years and while I was there helped to set up a thermoset and thermoplastic manufacturing facility. I then worked for Siemens in China. Not many people know that I didn't just work in the field of thermosets, but just as much in the field of thermoplastics. However, thermoset is only a small field on the plastics scene, so my work became much more widely known because of this. There are a lot more experts in the field of thermoplastics, meaning that it's more difficult to make a name for yourself.

At the same time, you also worked as a university lecturer for a long time. What did this mean to you?

BH: It was always very important to me and provided me with a great deal of inspiration. The company ISK, where I was managing director, supported the plastics processing laboratory with the Technical Centre in research and development. Employees were financed by third parties and ISK provided the relevant equipment for the research projects. In this way, I always had access to graduands and was able to develop new technologies, both for thermoplastics and thermosets. And this combination – going into research and development, but also contributing to industry – was a huge advantage.

What do plastics mean to you?

BH: Plastics are very modern and innovative materials with which you can do a great deal. Modern designs and surfaces can be developed for Gira, which create new development trends by combining different processes. For example, electronics and plastics are merged in the field of smart plastics. Plastics and metals can also be combined. This is already in use in the automotive industry for reducing weight. The combination of different materials plays a major role in this. Plastics materials and processing methods offer great innovation potential. So it's obvious – innovation and plastics belong together. This is apparent from the fact that the plastics content is increasing in all areas.



Sense of contentment:
Bernhard Hoster loves the forests and green hills of the Bergisches Land region.
"The location of Radevormwald is very attractive. I feel quite at home here.
Whoever works here will be content", he says.


There are, however, environmental problems associated with plastics. Our oceans are becoming increasingly polluted with them. Do you worry about it sometimes?

BH: Of course I think about it. A lot is being done, also at Gira. When we construct new tools we try to design them in such a way that no sprue waste is produced. In addition, a recycling plant is now being introduced. This means that we grind down the sprues we still have from inherited waste and use them for new products. But there are also completely new methods. The Research department is trying to produce plastics from biopolymers, for example. For example, polyamides produced from castor oil. In principle, it is a technical plastic made from plants. The requirements are, however, not yet met to the extent we need. But they're still working on it. Recycling material will also play an increasing role in future at Gira as the properties of the materials are constantly being improved.

This means that although you are a representative of the plastics segment, you dare to think about alternatives to plastic?

BH: Yes, we are even focusing on these. These are issues that we are examining very carefully. I also don't want the oceans to be polluted with plastics waste. I also come across packaging in everyday life, which makes me think we really don't need this. We need to take a closer look at this. However, these considerations don't just apply to plastics, but to every material. We have to use every material to the extent that we actually need it and in the way that will offer the most benefit.

Back to your profession – with over 20 years under your belt, you have a wealth of professional experience. You have worked in many important positions – both at home and abroad. In 2011 you said: I am going to Gira. What attracted you?

BH: Over the course of my professional life I have got to know around 1,000 companies and worked very intensively with some companies. I got to know major corporations such as Siemens, Daimler and Denso, the second-largest automotive supplier. I have known Gira for over 20 years. At ISK in Iserlohn, we always had service contracts and cooperation agreements with Gira. Back then, while working with Gira I noticed that the company had a particularly good culture. There are few companies where a culture of this kind permeates from the management level at the top right down to the employees. I have always been impressed by that. For this reason, I was attracted to the idea of joining Gira. Here, I am also given a lot of freedom for my work and scope to develop ideas. This is very important to me.


"What is important to Gira is driving things forward, but at a sensible pace, not in haste.”

Bernhard Hoster


Which projects are you currently working on?

BH: I am working on new products and systems, but I can't go into any more detail about this, as they are still in the development phase. However, I can definitely tell you about a different important part of my job. In addition to technology management, I have also taken on the role of head of process engineering. The optimisation of processes and tools is key to ensuring quality and cost efficiency. I am also in charge of a technical centre here in the building with four different machines. I enjoy this a lot as we can also develop new technologies there. I also introduced the idea of conducting thesis work in the field of plastics in-house. I try to put into practice what I always used to do earlier, introducing innovations.

If you compare the many companies where you have worked in the past with Gira: What is the main difference?

BH: The main difference is the human factor. How well people here interact with each other and the fact that the goals advocated by management permeate the company from top to bottom. In other words, there are straight lines running through the company. Gira is extremely innovative, for me one of the most innovative companies I have ever got to know. A lot of money is invested here, here they think in terms of the future. What is important to Gira is driving things forward, but at a sensible pace, not in haste. They take their time for development, this is quite extraordinary. I also consider this to be part of the Gira culture.

As someone who is widely travelled and with global experience – how do you feel in Radevormwald?

BH: I enjoy living here. Above all, I really appreciate living near the company. And here in the region we have a centre of plastics technology with over 350 companies within a radius of around 100 kilometres – in this regard this is also a very interesting location, with a wide variety of networks in the plastics field that are vigorously exploited by Gira. In terms of the surrounding countryside, the Bergisches Land and the Sauerland are charming and offer a wide array of recreational opportunities. In a small space there is therefore everything you need to combine your career and private interests.

Profile of Bernhard Hoster


Born
1962

At Gira since
2011

Studies
Mechanical Engineering with specialisation in plastics technology at the University of Applied Sciences of South Westphalia in Iserlohn

Career
After his studies he was appointed head of the thermosets department at the Plastics Institute in Lüdenscheid. In 1996 he was involved in the founding of the company Iserlohner Kunststoff-Technologie GmbH [ISK] and became managing director there. He travelled extensively for the company, and worked in Istanbul and China for a long time.

Career at Gira
He has been head of Technology Management at Gira since 2011.

[Last updated: 2014]


Further information

Gira verwendet Cookies für Websites in der Domain gira.de. Durch die Nutzung unserer Website stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Erfahren Sie mehr zu den von uns oder Dritten eingesetzten Cookies und Ihren Möglichkeiten diese auszustellen in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Ok

Kunststoffkenner mit Forschergeist

Interview mit Bernhard Hoster, Technolgiemanager bei Gira im Gechäftsfeld Kunststofftechnik
Stand 4/2014

Bernhard Hoster ist Technologiemanager im Geschäftsfeld Kunststofftechnik bei Gira. Der Experte hat nicht nur verschiedene leitende Positionen in der Region, sondern auch schon in Japan, China und der Türkei innegehabt. Zudem war er lange Zeit als Dozent an der Hochschule tätig. An Forschung und Entwicklung zu arbeiten und das Fachwissen in die Industrie einzubringen – die Kombination war ihm immer besonders wichtig. Das verfolgt er auch bei Gira weiter. Denn Innovation und Kunststoff gehören für Hoster untrennbar zusammen.

Themen Dieses Artikels


Innovationsprozesse


Neue Technologien


Abschlussarbeiten und Gira Technikum

Sie sind ein angesehener Experte auf dem Gebiet der Kunststofftechnik,

BH: Das fing schon mit dem Studium an. Ich habe in Iserlohn an der Fachhochschule Kunststofftechnik studiert und meine Diplomarbeit im Bereich Duroplast geschrieben. Dann war ich am Aufbau des Kunststoffinstitutes in Lüdenscheid beteiligt, habe dort die Abteilung Duroplaste geleitet. Später habe ich die Firma Iserlohner Kunststoff- Technologie [ISK] gegründet und war für diese weltweit unterwegs. Ich war zwei Jahre bei Siemens in Istanbul, habe geholfen, dort eine Duroplast- und Thermoplastfertigung aufzubauen. Dann war ich für Siemens noch in China. Viele wissen das gar nicht, ich habe nicht nur im Bereich der Duroplaste, sondern fast genauso viel im Thermoplastbereich gearbeitet. Allerdings ist Duroplast in der Kunststoffszene nur ein kleiner Bereich, dadurch ist meine Arbeit wesentlich bekannter geworden. Für Thermoplaste gibt es viel mehr Experten, da ist es schwieriger, sich einen Namen zu machen.

Sie waren auch lange Zeit nebenbei als Dozent an der Hochschule tätig. Was hat das für Sie bedeutet?

BH: Das war mir immer sehr wichtig und hat auch für viel Inspiration gesorgt. Die Firma ISK, bei der ich Geschäftsführer war, hat das Kunststoffverarbeitungslabor mit dem Technikum in Forschung und Entwicklung unterstützt. Mitarbeiter wurden im Drittmittelbereich finanziert, entsprechendes Equipment von der ISK für die Forschungsprojekte bereitgestellt. So hatte ich immer einen Zugriff auf Diplomanden und konnte neue Technologien entwickeln, sowohl für Thermo- als auch für Duroplaste. Und diese Kombination – in Forschung und Entwicklung zu gehen, das aber auch in die Industrie reinzutragen – war ein Riesenvorteil.

Wofür stehen Kunststoffe für Sie?

BH: Kunststoffe sind sehr moderne und innovative Werkstoffe, mit denen man unheimlich viel machen kann. Es lassen sich für Gira moderne Designs und Oberflächen ableiten, die durch Kombinationen verschiedener Verfahren neue Entwicklungstrends setzen. Im Bereich der Smart Plastics werden beispielhaft Elektronik und Kunststoff zusammengeführt. Auch die Kombination von Kunststoff und Metallen ist möglich. In der Automobilindustrie wird dies bereits zur Gewichtsreduzierung genutzt. Die Kombination verschiedener Werkstoffe spielt dabei eine große Rolle. In den Kunststoffmaterialien und Verarbeitungsverfahren liegt ein großes Innovationspotenzial. Also ganz klar – Innovation und Kunststoff gehören zusammen. Das sieht man auch daran, dass der Kunststoffanteil in allen Bereichen wächst.



Zufriedenheit spüren:
Bernhard Hoster liebt die Wälder und die grünen Hügel des Bergischen Landes.
„Der Standort Radevormwald ist sehr attraktiv. Ich fühle mich hier pudelwohl.
Wer hier arbeitet, kann zufrieden sein“, sagt er.


Es gibt aber auch Umweltprobleme, die mit den Kunststoffen verbunden sind. Die Meere werden zunehmend damit verschmutzt. Grübeln Sie manchmal darüber?

BH: Natürlich denke ich darüber nach. Da wird vieles getan, auch bei Gira. Wenn wir neue Werkzeuge bauen, versuchen wir die so zu konstruieren, dass keine Angussabfälle mehr entstehen. Außerdem wird jetzt eine Recyclinganlage eingeführt. Das bedeutet, die Angüsse, die wir aus Altlasten noch haben, mahlen wir ein und nutzen sie für neue Produkte. Aber es gibt auch ganz neue Wege. Die Forschung versucht, Kunststoffe zum Beispiel aus Biopolymeren herzustellen. Zum Beispiel Polyamide, die aus Rizinusöl hergestellt werden. Das ist im Prinzip ein technischer Kunststoff aus Pflanzen. Die Anforderungen sind jedoch noch nicht so weit erfüllt, wie wir sie brauchen. Aber es wird weitergehen. Auch Recyclingmaterial wird bei Gira zukünftig eine immer größere Rolle spielen, da die Eigenschaften der Materialien immer weiter verbessert werden.

Das heißt, obwohl Sie ein Vertreter der Kunststoffsparte sind, trauen Sie sich auch, über Alternativen zu Kunststoff nachzudenken?

BH: Die sind sogar im Fokus. Das sind Punkte, die wir uns sehr genau anschauen. Ich bin auch nicht dafür, dass die Meere mit Plastikmüll verschmutzt werden. Ich sehe auch manchmal im Alltag Verpackungen, bei denen ich denke, das muss wirklich nicht sein. Da muss man genauer hinschauen. Solche Überlegungen gelten aber nicht nur für Kunststoffe, sondern für jeden Werkstoff. Man muss jeden Werkstoff so einsetzen, wie man ihn wirklich braucht und wie er den größten Nutzen hat.

Zurück zu Ihrem Beruf – mit mehr als 20 Jahren haben Sie jede Menge Berufserfahrung. Sie haben in vielen wichtigen Positionen gearbeitet – national wie international. 2011 haben Sie dann gesagt: Ich gehe zu Gira. Was hat Sie daran gereizt?

BH: ch habe im Berufsleben so um die 1000 Firmen kennengelernt und mit einigen Unternehmen sehr intensiv gearbeitet. Ich habe große Konzerne kennengelernt wie Siemens, Daimler oder Denso, den zweitgrößten Automobilzulieferer. Gira kenne ich schon seit mehr als 20 Jahren. Bei der ISK in Iserlohn hatten wir immer Dienstoder Kooperationsverträge mit Gira. Schon damals habe ich bei der Zusammenarbeit gemerkt, dass Gira eine besonders gute Kultur hat. Es gibt wenige Firmen, bei denen solch eine Kultur von oben von der Geschäftsführung bis zu den Mitarbeitern ganz nach unten durchgetragen wird. Das hat mich immer begeistert. Daher hat es mich natürlich gereizt, bei Gira anzufangen. Ich bekomme hier auch sehr viele Freiräume für meine Arbeit und die Entwicklung von Ideen. Das ist für mich sehr wichtig.


„Es geht Gira darum, Dinge nach vorne zu treiben, aber vernünftig, nicht übereilt.”

Bernhard Hoster


An welchen Projekten arbeiten Sie gerade?

BH: Ich arbeite an neuen Produkten und Systemen, darüber darf ich aber nicht genauer berichten. Denn die befinden sich noch in der Entwicklungsphase. Aber ich kann auf jeden Fall über einen anderen wichtigen Bereich meiner Tätigkeit sprechen. Zusätzlich zum Technologiemanagement bin ich auch Leiter der Verfahrenstechnik geworden. Die Optimierung der Prozesse und Werkzeuge ist ein wichtiger Punkt, um Qualität und Wirtschaftlichkeit zu gewähren. Ich leite auch ein Technikum hier im Haus mit vier verschiedenen Maschinen. Das macht mir sehr viel Spaß, weil wir da auch neue Technologien entwickeln können. Zudem habe ich für den Kunststoffbereich eingeführt, dass wir Diplomarbeiten im Hause durchführen. Darüber versuche ich das zu leben, was ich früher auch immer gemacht habe, dass ich Innovationen einbringe.

Wenn Sie die vielen Firmen, für die Sie in der Vergangenheit gearbeitet haben, mit Gira vergleichen: Was ist der größte Unterschied?

BH: Der größte Unterschied ist das Menschliche. Wie gut die Menschen hier miteinander umgehen und dass die Geschäftsführung ihre Ziele bis nach unten vertritt. Das heißt, es ist eine Geradlinigkeit im Unternehmen. Gira ist extrem innovativ, für mich eine der innovativsten Firmen, die ich überhaupt kennengelernt habe. Hier wird auch Geld in die Hand genommen, hier denkt man an die Zukunft. Es geht Gira darum, Dinge nach vorne zu treiben, aber vernünftig, nicht übereilt. Man lässt sich Zeit bei Entwicklungen, das ist ganz außergewöhnlich. Das verstehe ich auch als einen Teil der Gira Kultur.

Als jemand, der weit gereist und welterfahren ist – wie fühlen Sie sich in Radevormwald?

BH: Ich lebe gern hier. Vor allem schätze ich es sehr, in der örtlichen Nähe zur Firma zu wohnen. Und wir haben hier in der Region ein Zentrum der Kunststofftechnik mit mehr als 350 Firmen im Umkreis von etwa 100 Kilometern – das ist also auch in dieser Hinsicht ein sehr interessanter Standort, in dem unterschiedlichste Netzwerke im Kunststoffbereich vorhanden sind und von Gira intensiv genutzt werden. Landschaftlich sind das Bergische Land und das Sauerland reizvoll und bieten die unterschiedlichsten Möglichkeiten zur Freizeitgestaltung. Auf engstem Raum ist also alles vorhanden, um Beruf und private Interessen zu verbinden.

Steckbrief Bernhard Hoster


Geboren
1962

Bei Gira seit
2011

Studium
Maschinenbau mit der Studienrichtung Kunststofftechnik an der Fachhochschule Südwestfalen in Iserlohn

Werdegang
Nach dem Studium wurde er Leiter der Duroplastabteilung am Kunststoff-Institut in Lüdenscheid. 1996 war er an der Gründung der Firma Iserlohner Kunststoff-Technologie GmbH [ISK] beteiligt und wurde dort Geschäftsführer. Für diese Tätigkeit war er weltweit unterwegs, arbeitete für längere Zeit in Istanbul und China.

Werdegang bei Gira
Seit 2011 ist er Leiter des Technologiemanagements bei Gira.

[Stand 2014]


Weitere Informationen