Gira uses cookies for websites in the gira.com domain. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. Our Data Protection Declaration contains more information about the cookies used by us or third parties and the ways in which you can deactivate cookies.

Ok

New beginnings with staying power

INTERVIEW WITH CHRISTIANE HARNISCHMACHER AND LILIJA SARTISON, TEAM COORDINATOR IN SEGMENT 5 LAST UPDATED: 2012

Assembly at Gira is divided into several manufacturing segments. Segment 5 assembles all types of covers, e.g. covers for rocker switches, touch sensors, and for communication technology plug connectors. Employees in this segment have received the "smart bonus", which is paid out by Gira for increase in net productivity, eleven times within four years. All this just for the money? Christiane Harnischmacher and Lilija Sartison, the two team coordinators, have a different opinion. They say: "Money alone can never be a motivating factor."

Topics in this article


Willingness to change


Openness to ideas


Scope for creativity

Ms Harnischmacher, Ms Sartison, how is it that your segment is becoming increasingly "smarter"?

CH: I think we simply started early on with our optimisations. When the prize was introduced in 2007, our net productivity figures were rock bottom, we recognised a need there.

Did management shake you up?

LS: When the figures were presented, many of us were initially frustrated, we said: We will never get the "smart bonus". But then we started to think about what we could change.

CH: Yes, somehow this awakened our fighting spirit, we wanted to prove that we could do better.

So did this bonus motivate you?

CH: It was a springboard for a kind of mood to start afresh, at least. And then after this we didn't want to stop at all, we really enjoyed it. And this has continued to this day. So you wanted to increase productivity.

What did you do?

CH: We simply started talking to our teams. We did this in passing during our everyday work, and this is how we collected ideas for changes.

LS: At the start, this also called for a change in attitude. We tried to move our employees more in the direction of working in groups. To show that we are moving away from piecework. That is my workplace, that is my chair, that was the attitude of the "old hands" from the piecework time. Integrating old and new employees into the group without any resentment was also a major challenge. These are things that took time.

You said that you collected your colleagues' ideas? What were these ideas?

CH: For example, a colleague of mine said, I don't want to assemble it in this way, I don't want to handle it in this way, this way is more ergonomic. Another colleague preferred to use a small trolley for picking, like in a supermarket.

LS: Yes, these were minor issues, actually simple things, which, however, put together made a difference.

And with these trivial issues you then gradually turned the whole segment on its head?

CF: Yes. A good example is the box in which we currently install the modular jack/Western plug connector. For historical reasons, all the work steps were spread over the entire segment, in spatial terms. For each work step, all the parts had to be packed into the box and then taken out again. This alone increased lead times significantly. Today, we have collected all the work steps in this box and reintegrated a step that was previously outsourced. From an ergonomic perspective, it's very good, the height of workplaces can be adjusted, employees can sit or stand.


"In our private lives we have different interests, just look at our dogs. But at a human and professional level, we attach importance to the same things."

Lilija Sartison


Doesn't this stop sometimes? At some point there won't be anything left to
optimise.

CH: No, there is always something, a new product, right now the SAP system, and of course the requirements change. And then everyone is wondering how that will proceed and adapt.

LS: In the meantime, this willingness to change has become so second nature to employees that they don't even notice it themselves. They know that they don't have to blindly accept everything that is put in front of them.

And all this just because of the bonus?

CH: Of course, this is also about the money, but you will never manage to motivate people with money alone. People must simply enjoy coming here to work. Often, when our head of manufacturing Mr Dürwald asked, what difference does that make to you, they answered: Yes, we are allowed to laugh.

What exactly do you enjoy about your work?

CH: I think, there is still this mood of starting afresh for many people, at the same time it has become normal to think about possible changes. They all know that they don't have to accept anything that they don't agree with. And that change is not scary, but is a part of everyday life. Maybe we have succeeded in implementing this way of thinking into the team

LS: An incentive is certainly also the opportunity to be able to work without unnecessary bodily exertions. If I can do the same work in a comfortable, ergonomic manner without going home totally exhausted, while being able to receive a "smart bonus": why not?


Totally different, but solid partners at work: the two team coordinators Christiane Harnischmacher [left] and Lilija Sartison [right] on a walk in the forest. "In our private lives we have different interests, just look at our dogs. But at a human and professional level, we attach importance to the same things."


So would you see the right of self-determination of your colleagues as a main impetus for fun and a willingness to change?

CH: Of course, because you don't relapse into old habits if you yourself were involved in the changes. When I see that it is a good thing for me, then that doesn't happen. And this principle of not going to employees and saying, you must do this, but instead, saying tell me how you would like to have it, this has the most impact.

Is it sometimes difficult to push through changes vis-a-vis Gira?

CH: We are sometimes uncomfortable, but on the whole Gira is very open. No, on the contrary, I am pleased how much independence is possible in my role and how many concessions I can make to my employees. And they also give it back to me. It's about give and take. We are nothing without our team.

So, will your team of around 50 employees also get a few more optimisation measures off the ground in future?

CH: Of course, as I said, it never stops. But we are on the right path yet again.

To where?

Christiane Harnischmacher: Getting the "smart bonus" this year for the twelfth time.

We'll keep our fingers crossed for you.

PROFILE OF CHRISTIANE HARNISCHMACHER


Born
1965

At Gira since
2006

Training
as master craftswomen in the bakery trade

Career at Gira
Since 2006 team coordinator in Segment 5.

Current training measure
Christiane Harnischmacher is currently completing a further training measure as a technical business economist.

PROFILE OF LILIJA SARTISON


Born
1973

At Gira since
2003

Training
Training as an administrator in a construction company

Career at Gira
Lilija Sartison worked in Assembly from 2003 to 2005 and has been a team coordinator in Segment 5 since 2005.

[Last updated: 2012]


Further information

Gira verwendet Cookies für Websites in der Domain gira.de. Durch die Nutzung unserer Website stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Erfahren Sie mehr zu den von uns oder Dritten eingesetzten Cookies und Ihren Möglichkeiten diese auszustellen in unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Ok

Aufbruch mit Ausdauer

INTERVIEW MIT CHRISTIANE HARNISCHMACHER UND LILIJA SARTISON, TEAMKKORDINATORIN IN SEGMENT 5
STAND 2012

Die Montage bei Gira ist in mehrere Fertigungssegmente aufgeteilt. Das Segment 5 montiert Abdeckungen aller Arten, zum Beispiel von Wippschaltern, Tastsensoren oder den Steckverbindern der Kommunikationstechnik. Innerhalb von vier Jahren haben die Mitarbeiter dieses Bereichs elf Mal die „Schlauerprämie“ kassiert, die von Gira für die Steigerung der Netto-Produktivität ausgegeben wird. Alles nur wegen des Geldes? Christiane Harnischmacher und Lilija Sartison, die beiden Teamkoordinatorinnen, sind anderer Meinung. Sie sagen: „Geld allein kann niemals motivieren.“

Themen Dieses Artikels


Bereitschaft für Veränderungen


Offenheit für Ideen


Gestaltungsspielraum

Frau Harnischmacher, Frau Sartison, wie kommt es, dass Ihr Segment immer „schlauer“ wird?

CH: Ich glaube, wir haben einfach früh angefangen mit unseren Optimierungen. Als die Prämie 2007 vorgestellt wurde, lagen wir mit unserer Netto-Produktivität im Keller, wir haben da eine Notwendigkeit gesehen.

Hatte die Geschäftsleitung Sie wachgerüttelt?

LS: Nachdem die Zahlen vorgestellt wurden, waren viele von uns erst mal frustriert, da hieß es: Die „Schlauerprämie“ werden wir niemals bekommen. Aber dann haben wir angefangen zu überlegen, was wir verändern könnten.

CH: Ja irgendwie hat das unseren Kampfeswillen geweckt, wir wollten beweisen, dass wir es besser können.

Also hat Sie diese Prämie schon motiviert?

CH: Sie war zumindest der Aufhänger für eine Art Aufbruchstimmung, die daraus entstanden ist. Und danach wollten wir gar nicht mehr aufhören, wir haben richtig Spaß an der Sache entwickelt. Und das hält bis heute an. Sie wollten also die Produktivität steigern.

Was haben Sie unternommen?

CH: Wir haben einfach angefangen, mit unserem Team zu sprechen. Das passierte ganz beiläufig während der täglichen Arbeit, so haben wir Ideen für Veränderungen gesammelt.

LS: Zu Beginn musste auch im Kopf noch ein Umdenken stattfinden. Wir haben versucht, unsere Mitarbeiter mehr in Richtung Gruppenfähigkeit zu bringen. Zu zeigen, dass wir weg sind von einem Akkord. Das ist mein Arbeitsplatz, das ist mein Stuhl, das war das Denken der alten Hasen aus der Akkordzeit. Eine große Herausforderung bestand auch darin, alte und neue Mitarbeiter ohne Missgunst in die Gruppe zu integrieren. Das sind Dinge, die ihre Zeit brauchten

Sie sagten, Sie haben die Ideen Ihrer Mitarbeiter gesammelt? Was für Ideen waren das denn?

CH: Zum Beispiel sagte eine Mitarbeiterin, so will ich das nicht montieren, so will ich das nicht greifen, auf diese Weise ist es ergonomischer. Eine andere wollte lieber einen kleinen Wagen benutzen, wenn sie kommissionieren geht, so wie im Supermarkt.

LS: Ja, das waren ganz viele Kleinigkeiten, eigentlich einfache Dinge, die aber dann in der Summe viel ausgemacht haben.

Und mit diesen Kleinigkeiten haben Sie dann nach und nach Ihr ganzes Segment auf den Kopf gestellt?

CF: Ja. Ein gutes Beispiel ist die Box, in der wir heute die Modular Jack/Western- Steckverbinder montieren. Sämtliche Arbeitsgänge waren, räumlich gesehen, über das ganze Segment verteilt – bedingt durch die Historie. Für jeden Arbeitsschritt mussten alle Teile in die Kiste ein- und wieder ausgepackt werden, allein das hat die Durchlaufzeiten extrem verlängert. Heute haben wir alle Arbeitsgänge in dieser Box gesammelt und dazu einen vorher ausgelagerten Schritt wieder integriert. Auch ergonomisch ist das eins a, die Plätze sind höhenverstellbar, die Mitarbeiter können sitzen oder stehen.


„Im Privatleben haben wir unterschiedliche Interessen, schau dir allein die Hunde an. Aber menschlich und bei der Arbeit legen wir auf die gleichen Dinge wert.“

Lilija Sartison


Hört das nicht auch mal auf? Irgendwann müsste doch alles optimiert sein, was
geht.

CH: Nein, es kommt ja immer wieder etwas dazu, ein neues Produkt, jetzt aktuell das SAP-System, da ändern sich die Anforderungen natürlich mit. Und schon machen sich alle wieder Gedanken, wie das ablaufen wird und bauen um.

LS: Mittlerweile ist den Mitarbeitern dieser Veränderungswille so in Fleisch und Blut übergegangen, dass ihnen das schon selbst nicht mehr auffällt. Sie wissen, dass sie nichts blind akzeptieren müssen, was man ihnen vor die Nase setzt.

Und all dies nur wegen der Prämie?

CH: Natürlich hat das auch mit Geld zu tun, aber Sie werden es niemals schaffen, Menschen ausschließlich über Geld zu motivieren. Es muss einfach auch Spaß machen, zu kommen und zu arbeiten. Oft, wenn Herr Dürwald, unser Fertigungsleiter, gefragt hat, was macht euch denn aus, kam die Antwort: Ja, wir dürfen lachen.

Was genau macht Ihnen so viel Spaß bei der Arbeit?

CH: Ich glaube, da ist noch immer diese Aufbruchstimmung bei ganz vielen Mitarbeitern, gleichzeitig ist es aber normal geworden, sich Gedanken über mögliche Veränderungen zu machen. Alle wissen, dass sie nichts hinnehmen müssen, was ihnen nicht zusagt. Und dass Veränderungen keine Angst machen, sondern zu unserem Alltag gehören. Vielleicht haben wir es gut geschafft, dieses Denken in das Team zu implementieren

LS: Ein Anreiz ist sicher auch die Möglichkeit, ohne unnötige körperliche Strapazen arbeiten zu können. Wenn ich die gleiche Arbeit auf bequeme, ergonomische Art und Weise erledigen kann, ohne völlig erschöpft nach Hause zu gehen, und dabei noch eine Schlauerprämie bekommen kann: wieso nicht?


Grundverschieden, aber Zusammenhalt im Beruf: die beiden Teamkoordinatorinnen Christiane Harnischmacher [links] und Lilija Sartison [rechts] bei einem Spaziergang im Wald. „Im Privatleben haben wir unterschiedliche Interessen, schau dir allein die Hunde an. Aber menschlich und bei der Arbeit legen wir auf die gleichen Dinge wert.


Also würden Sie das Selbstbestimmungsrecht Ihrer Mitarbeiter als Hauptimpuls für Spaß und Veränderungswille sehen?

CH: Sicher, denn man fällt nicht in ein altes Raster, wenn man selbst an den Veränderungen mitgewirkt hat. Wenn ich sehe, das tut mir doch gut, dann passiert das nicht. Und dieser Grundsatz, nicht zu den Mitarbeitern zu gehen und zu sagen, du musst, sondern zu sagen, sag du mir, wie du es gerne hättest, der wirkt vielleicht am meisten.

Ist es manchmal schwierig, Veränderungen gegenüber Gira durchzuboxen?

CH: Wir sind zwar manchmal ungemütlich, aber Gira ist da insgesamt sehr offen. Nein, im Gegenteil, ich bin eher glücklich darüber, wie viel Selbstständigkeit in meinem Rahmen möglich ist und wie viele Zugeständnisse ich an meine Mitarbeiter machen kann. Und die geben mir das dann auch zurück. Das ist ein Geben und Nehmen. Ohne unser Team sind wir nix.

Also wird Ihr rund 50 Mitarbeiter starkes Team auch in Zukunft noch ein paar Optimierungsmaßnahmen auf den Weg bringen?

CH: Natürlich, wie gesagt, das hört nicht mehr auf. Wir sind übrigens wieder auf dem besten Wege.

Wohin?

Christiane Harnischmacher: In diesem Jahr zum 12. Mal die „Schlauerprämie“ zu bekommen.

Wir drücken Ihnen die Daumen.

STECKBRIEF CHRISTIANE HARNISCHMACHER


Geboren
1965

Bei Gira seit
2006

Ausbildung
zur Handwerksmeisterin im Bäckerhandwerk

Werdegang bei Gira
Seit 2006 Teamkkordinatorin in Segment 5.

Aktuelle Weiterbildungsmaßnahme
Derzeit absolviert Christiane Harnischmacher eine Weiterbildungsmaßnahme zum technischen Betriebswirt.

STECKBRIEF LILIJA SARTISON


Geboren
1973

Bei Gira seit
2003

Ausbildung
Ausbildung zur Sachbearbeiterin in einem Bauunternehmen

Werdegang bei Gira
Lilija Sartison arbeitete von 2003 bis 2005 als in der Montage und ist seit 2005 Teamkoordinatorin im Segment 5.

[Stand 2012]


Weitere Informationen