Gira uses cookies for websites in the gira.com domain. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies. Our Data Protection Declaration contains more information about the cookies used by us or third parties and the ways in which you can deactivate cookies.

Ok

Joining Gira: opportunities for people with professional experience

Working at Gira with commitment and support

Gira offers a wide range of activities with potential for development in various technical and commercial occupations. A job at Gira means exciting tasks and prospects in a committed team and a responsible, innovative company. Gira offers fair remuneration, significant support for further training and career development, and attaches importance to healthy working conditions and a work/family balance.

View job offers for people with professional experience


Top 3 topics

Design and development, promoting innovations – Gira offers interesting and varied activities in a range of occupations.


RELIABLY PROVIDED FOR

Remuneration and financial benefits

Fair and reliable remuneration is a matter of course for Gira. In this regard, the company consistently adheres to the provisions of the collective agreements of the metal and electrical industry in North Rhine-Westphalia and in some aspects goes above and beyond this. Options for structuring company-specific performance-related remuneration are actively pursued. In addition, there is a series of social benefits and additional benefits.


OVERVIEW OF REMUNERATION AND FINANCIAL BENEFITS

Commitment to collective bargaining agreements

Gira is committed to collective bargaining agreements. The provisions of the collective agreements of the metal and electrical industry in North Rhine-Westphalia are consistently adhered to, in some aspects Gira also goes above and beyond this.


Company-specific performance-related remuneration

Options for structuring company-specific performance-related remuneration are actively pursued. Performance-related remuneration is closely linked to company targets or the targets of individual company divisions. With the earning opportunities that this provides, Gira always goes beyond the provisions of the collective agreements.


Social benefits

With regard to company pension schemes, contributions to capital formation and supplementary insurance in the area of healthcare, Gira has concluded framework agreements with various insurers, which offer Gira employees a comprehensive benefits package at attractive conditions. The company has set up a social insurance fund for prolonged cases of illness, where continued payment of salary can no longer be assumed.


Supplementary benefits

All employees receive financial support for travel between home and the workplace. Gira offers an attractive selection of meals and beverages for breakfast, lunch and dinner at subsidised rates at the Radevormwald site.


Perspectives at Gira

"I need change, I love learning and achieving new goals". When I started in assembly, I soon applied for a position as team coordinator and then trained as an industrial foreman."

Biljana Branisavljevic-Sovic
Find out more


MAKE USE OF POTENTIAL FOR DEVELOPMENT

Further training

As a company in which innovation and flexibility play a key role, Gira attaches a great deal of importance to providing its employees and managers with regular, targeted training opportunities. Key to this is ensuring that the training is linked as closely as possible to achieving the company's targets.


OVERVIEW OF FURTHER TRAINING AT GIRA

Advanced training

After training, you can proceed to advanced training. Depending on the profession, commitment, personal inclination and aptitude, Gira supports traditional advanced training opportunities such as training as a technician or a master craftsman, or part-time continuing education courses. Some examples for guidance:

Advanced training in the technical professions

Foreman in plastics and rubber [in different specialist fields]

Technician specialising in mechanical engineering

Technician specialising in process engineering

IT operative or IT strategic professionals part-time continuing education course for a Bachelor of Engineering degree

Advanced training in the commercial professions

Part-time continuing education course for a Bachelor of Arts degree

Specialist in foreign trade, marketing or purchasing/materials management

IT specialist [state certified]


Regular training programmes

Gira has developed the in-house staff development programme "Gira Campus" for the advancement of its employees, which in addition to specialist expertise, also promotes social and methodological expertise. In addition, the company supports participation in further training sessions, courses, seminars and conferences, each individually tailored to employees' personal qualification requirements. Examples of the above include:

Foreign languages [English]
Communication skills
Conflict management
Project management

Executive development

Managers receive intensive support and encouragement at Gira. Employees who assume managerial responsibility for the first time are prepared for this step in a targeted manner with internal and external measures. Gira provides existing managers with further development support in line with their personal development goals. To do this it offers tailor-made training measures or mentoring by an experienced coach.


Annual appraisal meetings with all employees

Every year, executives hold annual appraisal meetings with their employees. During these appraisal meetings targets are agreed, the achievement of targets is assessed, performance and conduct are evaluated, development requirements are determined, and targets are set for employees' further development.


Inspiration

Gira requires and encourages its employees to visit trade fairs, colloquia, external work groups, and partner companies.


PERSPECTIVES AT GIRA

"The open-minded attitude towards reconciling work and family life has always been one of Gira's fundamental principles."

Christiane Fastenau
Find out more


ABILITY TO RESPOND IN A FLEXIBLE MANNER

Life and work

A work/family balance, healthy working conditions, freedom and flexibility - these aspects are very important at Gira, as they are indispensable to achieving satisfaction and good performance at the workplace. It must be possible to achieve a good balance between work and family life. This is a goal that Gira takes very seriously – and it concerns Gira employees with children in particular. Gira's new childcare centre ensures that infants are well and reliably cared for. Gira also offers the possibility of individually agreeing flexible working hours and also working from home.


OVERVIEW OF LIFE AND WORK AT GIRA

Flexible working time

As part of its flexible working time system, Gira employees can, with due consideration of company and departmental targets, decide for themselves when to start and finish work – of course always bearing in mind the successful course of business and smooth cooperation with colleagues.


Trust-based working hours, working from home

Gira offers a trust-based working hours model for many positions, in accordance with which an individually agreed portion of working time can be completed at home. This ensures continued participation in corporate coordination or decision-making processes.


With plenty of space to play, learn and romp around, the small children of Gira employees are well looked after in the company's
in-house childcare centre.

Gira childcare centre

In keeping with its family-friendly corporate policy, Gira has now achieved another milestone. Supported by the Radevormwald town council, the company has constructed a childcare centre on its premises. The centre opened in October 2014. Young children from the age of six months up to the age of 3 are cared for in the Gira childcare centre.

Successfully reconciling work and family is often a challenge, especially with regard to re-entering working life. As part of its family-friendly corporate policy, Gira places a great deal of importance on actively helping its staff to manage work and family life – with measures that make a noticeable difference. A crucial component of this is the Gira childcare centre, which opened its doors in October 2014. The Gira childcare centre will care for children up to the age of 3 – in other words, until they make the transition to a regular kindergarten. Gira is therefore making an important provision for the time when there tends to be an acute shortage of childcare services.


The Gira childcare centre offers space for two groups of ten children each. This guarantees that high-quality educational care can be provided. Only well-trained, state-approved childcare staff are employed. The children are also given breakfast and lunch as part of the childcare service. There are also plans to keep the centre open during the holidays so that optimum care that parents can rely on is provided during this time too. The Gira childcare centre is supported by the company Kita Concept. For Gira, it is important that the childcare centre be non-denominational and politically independent. Parental contributions for the childcare depend on the income-related table applicable in Radevormwald.

So a lively group of little ones in the Gira childcare centre is the latest addition to the company.

ADVANTAGES OF THE GIRA CHILDCARE CENTRE

Needs-based
opening hours
6am - 6pm

Breakfast and lunch
provided for the
children

Two groups, each with
10 children under the age of 3

Exemplary building
with a feel-good factor


Exercising at the gym improves health and well-being -
Gira encourages this type of sports activities too with its health management programme.

Active health management

Active health management is an essential component of responsible corporate leadership. Gira has taken on this task, systematically introducing and implementing numerous measures since 2007. After performing an initial analysis of the work situation in manufacturing, the company derived a set of concrete measures. This includes, for example, the introduction of informal welcome back meetings offered to people after a long illness-related absence. These are intended to inform staff of any changes that may have taken place during their absence and hear about how they are feeling and whether they've overcome their health issues, so that, if necessary, Gira can optimise their working environment to help their recovery.

The company has also set up a mental health hotline: two consultations are offered for Gira employees per week. Conversations are held outside the workplace and are completely anonymous.


 

As part of the prevention programme, Gira cooperates with Sports UP XXL, a professional gym in Schwelm: Twice a month, employees at the sport and fitness centre offer general health checks and spinal screening, nutritional advice and massages at Gira. In addition to these individual appointments, the trainers also offer advice to Gira employees in the workplace. What's special about this, is that staff can take advantage of it during working hours. All employees also receive membership of two nearby, well-equipped fitness centres where they can work out for free after work or at weekends. The attendance rate is 46% of all employees and thus clearly well above the target of 30 per cent.

ADVANTAGES OF ACTIVE HEALTH MANAGEMENT AT GIRA

46% of all employees
used the
free gym membership
in 2014

Offer of monthly
health checks
and consultations
in-house

Anonymous telephone hotline offering
mental health counselling

Welcome back meetings
after an illness-related
absence


BROADENING YOUR HORIZONS

International opportunities

Gira has representatives in 39 countries. This offers employees various opportunities for short-term or also long-term assignments abroad. For it is important to also foster personal contacts in the various countries and to regularly get an impression of the circumstances there. Tasks while travelling include visits to trade fairs, conducting planning meetings for marketing at the importer, and discussions with the local architects. An excellent knowledge of English is required. To promote this skill, Gira offers English lessons for all employees already working in international relations and also for those who are interested or want to brush up their skills.


People at Gira > Clas Vesper

Adventure with a safety rope

In 2005, the management offered its trainees a year-long placement abroad for the first time. One of the options on the table was a stay in China. No-one took up the challenge – except Clas Vesper, who was then an apprentice toolmaker in the plastics production plant. He assumed a pioneering role and also posed new logistical challenges for Gira relating to the organisation of a job, accommodation and a visa. Just under a year later he started his trip to the mega-metropolis Shanghai.
Read interview

Topics in this article


Vocational training


Stay abroad


Dual course of study


Further information

Einstieg bei Gira für Berufserfahrene

Arbeiten bei Gira mit Engagement und Rückendeckung

Gira bietet in verschiedenen technischen und kaufmännischen Berufsfeldern interessante, vielfältige Tätigkeiten mit Entwicklungspotenzial. Ein Job bei Gira bedeutet spannende Aufgaben und Perspektiven in einem engagierten Team und einem verantwortungsbewussten, innovativen Unternehmen. Gira bietet faire Vergütung, große Unterstützung für Weiterbildung und Aufstieg und legt Wert auf gesunde Arbeitsbedingungen und die Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie.

Jobangebote für Berufserfahrene ansehen


Top 3 Themen

Konzipieren und entwickeln, Innovationen voranbringen – Gira bietet in verschiedenen Berufsfeldern interessante und vielfältige Tätigkeiten.


VERLÄSSLICH VERSORGT SEIN

Vergütung und finanzielle Leistungen

Für Gira ist faire und verlässliche Vergütung selbstverständlich. Dabei hält sich das Unternehmen konsequent an die Vorgaben der Tarifverträge der Metall- und Elektroindustrie in Nordrhein-Westfalen und geht teilweise auch darüber hinaus. Die Möglichkeiten zur Ausgestaltung von unternehmensspezifischen leistungsabhängigen Vergütungen werden intensiv genutzt. Hinzu kommen eine Reihe von Sozialleistungen und weitere Zusatzleistungen.


VERGÜTUNG UND FINANZIELLE LEISTUNGEN IM ÜBERBLICK

Tarifbindung

Gira ist ein tarifgebundenes Unternehmen. Die Vorgaben der Tarifverträge der Metall- und Elektroindustrie in Nordrhein-Westfalen werden konsequent eingehalten, in Teilen geht Gira auch über diese Vorgaben hinaus.


Unternehmensspezifische Leistungsvergütungen

Die Möglichkeiten zur Ausgestaltung von unternehmensspezifischen leistungsabhängigen Vergütungen werden intensiv genutzt. Dabei wird die Leistungsvergütung eng an die Zielsetzungen des Unternehmens bzw. einzelner Unternehmensbereiche geknüpft. Mit den dabei eröffneten Verdienstmöglichkeiten geht Gira stets über die Vorgaben der Tarifverträge hinaus.


Sozialleistungen

Für betriebliche Altersvorsorge, vermögenswirksame Leistungen und Zusatzversicherungen im Kranken- und Pflegebereich hat Gira mit diversen Versicherern Rahmenverträge abgeschlossen, die Gira Mitarbeitern ein umfangreiches Leistungspaket zu attraktiven Konditionen ermöglichen. Für längere Krankenfälle, bei denen keine Lohnfortzahlung mehr gegeben ist, hat das Unternehmen eine Sozialkasse eingerichtet.


Zusatzleistungen

Alle Mitarbeiter erhalten eine finanzielle Unterstützung für die Fahrten zwischen Wohnung und Arbeitsstätte. Dazu bietet Gira am Standort Radevormwald für Frühstück, Mittag- und Abendessen attraktive Speisen und Getränke zu vergünstigten Konditionen an.


Perspektiven bei Gira

„Ich brauche Veränderungen, ich liebe es, zu lernen und neue Ziele zu erreichen. Als ich in der Montage angefangen habe, habe ich mich schon bald auf eine Stelle als Teamkoordinatorin beworben, auf die eine Ausbildung zur Industriemeisterin folgte.“

Biljana Branisavljevic-Sovic
Mehr erfahren


RAUM FÜR ENTFALTUNG NUTZEN

Weiterbildung

Als Unternehmen, in dem Innovation und Veränderungsfähigkeit großgeschrieben werden, legt Gira großen Wert auf eine gezielte und regelmäßige Weiterbildung der Mitarbeiter und Führungskräfte. Wichtig ist dabei, dass die Weiterentwicklung möglichst eng mit der Erreichung der Ziele des Unternehmens verbunden ist.


WEITERENTWICKLUNG BEI GIRA IM ÜBERBLICK

Fortbildungen

Nach der Ausbildung geht es weiter. Je nach Beruf, Engagement, persönlicher Neigung und Eignung unterstützt Gira klassische Fortbildungen wie die Techniker- und Meisterausbildung oder das berufsbegleitende Studium. Einige Beispiele zur Orientierung:

Fortbildungen in den technischen Berufen

Industriemeister/-in Kunststoff und Kautschuk [in verschiedenen Fachrichtungen]

Techniker/-in in der Fachrichtung Maschinenbautechnik

Techniker/-in in der Fachrichtung Verfahrenstechnik

IT Operative oder IT Strategische Professionals berufsbegleitendes Studium zum Bachelor of Engineering

Fortbildungen in den kaufmännischen Berufen

Berufsbegleitendes Studium zum Bachelor of Arts

Fachkaufmann/-frau für Außenwirtschaft, Marketing oder Einkauf/Materialwirtschaft

Informatiker/-in [staatlich geprüft]


Regelmäßige Qualifizierungsangebote

Zur Förderung seiner Mitarbeiter hat Gira das unternehmensinterne Personal-Entwicklungsprogramm „Gira Campus“ entwickelt, das neben der Fachkompetenz auch Sozial- und Methodenkompetenz fördert. Darüber hinaus unterstützt das Unternehmen die Teilnahme an weiteren Lehrgängen, Kursen, Seminaren oder Tagungen, die jeweils individuell auf den persönlichen Qualifizierungsbedarf abgestimmt sind. Zu den Angeboten gehören beispielsweise:

Fremdsprachen [Englisch]
Kommunikationskompetenz
Konfliktmanagement
Projektmanagement

Führungskräfteentwicklung

Führungskräfte werden bei Gira intensiv begleitet und gefördert. Mitarbeiter, die erstmalig Führungsverantwortung übernehmen, werden mit internen und externen Maßnahmen gezielt auf diesen Schritt vorbereitet. Bestehende Führungskräfte entwickelt Gira, entsprechend den persönlichen Entwicklungszielen, weiter. Dazu werden individuell zugeschnittene Trainingsmaßnahmen oder die Begleitung durch einen erfahrenen Coach angeboten.


Jahresgespräche mit allen Mitarbeitern

Jedes Jahr führen die Führungskräfte mit ihren Mitarbeitern Jahresgespräche. Dabei werden Ziele vereinbart, die Zielerreichung bewertet, die Leistung und das Verhalten beurteilt, der individuelle Entwicklungsbedarf ermittelt und Ziele für die Weiterentwicklung der Mitarbeiter festgesetzt.


Inspiration

Besuche von Messen, Kolloquien, externen Arbeitskreisen oder befreundeten Unternehmen werden von Gira gefordert und gefördert.


PERSPEKTIVEN BEI GIRA

„Die offene Einstellung zur Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie war schon immer eine Grundhaltung von Gira.“

Christiane Fastenau
Mehr erfahren


FLEXIBEL REAGIEREN KÖNNEN

Leben und Arbeiten

Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Privatleben, gesunde Arbeitsbedingungen, Freiraum und Flexibilität - diese Aspekte sind bei Gira sehr wichtig, denn nur wenn auch für diese gesorgt wird, ist Zufriedenheit und gute Leistung am Arbeitsplatz möglich. Die gute Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie muss möglich sein. Das ist ein Ziel, das Gira sehr ernst nimmt. Das betrifft insbesondere Gira Mitarbeiter/-innen mit Kindern. Mit der neuen Gira Kindertagesstätte ist für eine gute und verlässliche Betreuung der Kleinkinder gesorgt. Außerdem bietet Gira die Möglichkeit, flexible Arbeitzeiten individuell zu vereinbaren und auch im Homeoffice tätig zu sein.


LEBEN UND ARBEITEN BEI GIRA IM ÜBERBLICK

Flexible Arbeitszeit

Im Rahmen der flexiblen Arbeitszeit können Gira Mitarbeiter unter Beachtung betrieblicher und abteilungsnotwendiger Zielvorgaben selbst bestimmen, wann die Arbeit aufgenommen und beendet wird – natürlich immer unter Berücksichtigung eines erfolgreichen Geschäftsverlaufs und der reibungslosen Zusammenarbeit unter Kollegen.


Vertrauensarbeitszeit, Homeoffice

Gira bietet in vielen Funktionen das Modell der Vertrauensarbeitszeit an, bei der ein individuell zu vereinbarender Teil der Arbeitszeit zu Hause absolviert werden kann. So bleibt die Teilnahme an betrieblichen Abstimmungs- beziehungsweise Entscheidungsprozessen gewährleistet.


Viel Raum für Spielen, Lernen, Toben – in der Gira Kindertagesstätte auf dem Betriebsgelände des Unternehmens
sind die Kleinkinder der Gira Mitarbeiter gut versorgt.

Im Sinne einer familiengerechten Unternehmenspolitik hat Gira einen weiteren Meilenstein erreicht. Unterstützt von der Stadt Radevormwald hat das Unternehmen auf seinem Betriebsgelände eine Kindertagesstätte errichtet. In der Gira Kita gibt es insgesamt 30 Betreuungsplätze. Eine Gruppe für Kinder von null bis drei Jahren, eine Gruppe mit Kindern von zwei bis sechs Jahren.

Beruf und Familie erfolgreich unter einen Hut zu bekommen, ist häufig eine Herausforderung, vor allem im Hinblick auf den Wiedereinstieg in das Berufsleben. Als Bestandteil der familiengerechten Unternehmenspolitik ist es für Gira daher ein wichtiges Anliegen, seine Belegschaft bei der Vereinbarkeit von Beruf und Familie aktiv unter die Arme zu greifen – mit Maßnahmen, die eine spürbare Entlastung bringen.


Ein entscheidender Baustein dafür ist die Gira Kindertagesstätte, die im Oktober 2014 eröffnet wurde. Aktuell werden dort rund 25 Kinder von professionell ausgebildeten und staatlich anerkannten Erziehern durch ihre Kindergartenzeit begleitet.

Auch die Verpflegung der Kinder mit Frühstück und Mittagessen gehört zum Angebot. Träger der Gira Kita ist das Unternehmen Kita Concept. Für Gira ist es wichtig, dass die Kita konfessionell und politisch unabhängig ist. Die Elternbeiträge für die Betreuung richten sich nach der gültigen einkommensabhängigen Beitragstabelle der Stadt Radevormwald.

VORTEILE DER GIRA KINDERTAGESSTÄTTE

Bedarfsgerechte
Öffnungszeiten
6.00 – 18.00 Uhr

Verpflegung der Kinder
mit Frühstück und
Mittagessen

Zwei Gruppen mit insgesamt 30 Kindern

Vorbildliches Gebäude
mit Wohlfühlfaktor


Trainieren im Fitnesscenter sorgt für mehr Wohlbefinden und Gesundheit –
Gira fördert mit seinem Gesundheitsmanagement auch solche sportlichen Aktivitäten.

Aktives Gesundheitsmanagement

Ein aktives Gesundheitsmanagement ist ein wesentlicher Bestandteil einer verantwortungsvollen Unternehmensführung. Gira hat sich dieser Aufgabe angenommen und seit 2007 systematisch zahlreiche Maßnahmen eingeführt und umgesetzt. Nachdem zunächst die Arbeitssituation im produzierenden Bereich analysiert worden war, hat das Unternehmen daraus konkrete Maßnahmen abgeleitet. Dazu gehört zum Beispiel die Einführung formloser Begrüßungsgespräche, zu denen Mitarbeiter nach längerer krankheitsbedingter Abwesenheit eingeladen werden. Damit sollen die Mitarbeiter über Änderungen informiert werden, die sich möglicherweise während ihrer Abwesenheit ergeben haben, und in Erfahrung gebracht werden, wie sie sich fühlen und ob die gesundheitlichen Probleme überwunden sind, damit Gira bei Bedarf auch im Arbeitsumfeld zur Genesung beitragen kann.

Zudem hat das Unternehmen eine psychologische Telefon-Hotline eingerichtet: In der Woche werden zwei Sprechstunden angeboten, die Gira Mitarbeiter in Anspruch nehmen können. Die Gespräche finden außerhalb vom Arbeitsplatz und völlig anonym statt.


 

Im Rahmen der Prävention kooperiert Gira mit Sports UP XXL, einem professionellen Fitnessstudio aus Schwelm: Zweimal im Monat bieten Mitarbeiter des Sport- und Fitnessstudios allgemeine Gesundheitschecks sowie Wirbelsäulenscreening, Ernährungsberatung oder auch Massagen bei Gira an. Neben diesen individuellen Terminen beraten die Trainer die Gira- Mitarbeiter auch am Arbeitsplatz. Das Besondere daran: Die Mitarbeiter können davon während der Arbeitszeit Gebrauch machen. Zudem haben alle Mitarbeiter eine Mitgliedskarte für zwei sehr gut ausgestattete und nahegelegene Fitnessstudios erhalten, wo sie nach Feierabend oder am Wochenende kostenlos trainieren können. Die Teilnahmequote liegt bei 46 Prozent aller Mitarbeiter und damit deutlich über den angestrebten 30 Prozent.

VORTEILE DES AKTIVEN GESUNDHEITSMANAGEMENT BEI GIRA

46 % aller Mitarbeiter
nutzten in 2014 die
kostenlose Mitgliedschaft
im Fitnessstudio

Angebot von monatlichen
Gesundheitschecks
und -beratungen im
Unternehmen

Anonyme psychologische
Telefon-Hotline

Begrüßungsgespräche
nach krankheitsbedingter
Abwesenheit


HORIZONT ERWEITERN

Internationale Möglichkeiten

Gira verfügt über Vertretungen in 39 Ländern. Damit bieten sich den Mitarbeiter/-innen verschiedene Möglichkeiten für kürzere oder auch längere Einsätze im Ausland. Denn es ist wichtig, in den verschiedenen Ländern auch persönliche Kontakte zu pflegen und sich regelmäßig ein Bild von den Gegebenheiten dort zu machen. Zu den Tätigkeiten auf Reisen gehört der Besuch von Messen dazu, das Führen von Planungsgesprächen für das Marketing beim Importeur oder auch der Austausch mit den dort tätigen Architekten. Dafür sind hervorragende Englischkenntnisse erforderlich. Um diese zu fördern, bietet Gira Englischunterricht an - für alle Mitarbeiter, die in internationalen Beziehungen bereits arbeiten und ebenso für jene, die Interesse daran haben und sich dafür noch fit machen möchten.


Menschen bei Gira > Clas Vesper

Abenteuer mit Sicherungsleine

Im Jahr 2005 bot die Geschäftsführung ihren Auszubildenden erstmals ein Jahr Arbeit im Ausland an. Im Raum stand ein Aufenthalt in China. Niemand machte Ernst – bis auf Clas Vesper, damals Auszubildender zum Werkzeugmechaniker in der Kunststofffertigung. Er übernahm die Vorreiterrolle und stellte auch Gira vor neue logistische Herausforderungen in Bezug auf die Organisation von Arbeitsstelle, Unterkunft und Visum. Knapp ein Jahr später startete seine Reise in die Millionenmetropole Shanghai.
Interview lesen

Themen dieses Artikels


Ausbildung


Auslandsaufenthalt


Duales Studium


Weitere Informationen